DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Newly licenced RN - NEED a plan! =( (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=24529)

StillDreamingRN 09-16-2011 04:17 PM

Newly licenced RN - NEED a plan! =(

Hi guys and girls,

I am a NY dreamer, recently graduated from nursing school, and unsure of what my next step should be. I spoke with my lawyer who stated that getting sponsored in this economy would be difficult, and can take as long as 3 years - and even then there's no guarantee that your case will be accepted. He recommended Canada, because you can self-sponsor, but after doing research, it seems that I may need at least a year's worth of experience before being considered. Does anyone have experience applying to other countries? Should that be my next step? - not sure how much longer I can wait hoping for DA/CIR to pass. I have a masters degree as well - going to school has been the only way I've managed to cope with my status, and still feel productive. However, now that I've graduated, I'm running out of options. Any other RNs out there in the same situation? What have you been doing since graduation? BTW, it's so great to have this forum. I've read a lot of your posts, and it's nice to have the support of others going through the same struggles that I am.

StillDreamingRN 09-16-2011 04:18 PM

Re: Newly licenced RN - NEED a plan! =(

This should be in lounge, but new to forum and not sure how to move it..

iDream 09-16-2011 04:29 PM

i suggest that you work as a CNA in a home for the elderly first. get paid under the table if they're willing. just to get experience... thats what some of my friends are doing. (RN and LVN US citizen friends) they would work as a CNA in a small elderly home clinic then work their way up just to get experience.