DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   DACA applicant married to US Citizen or Permanent Resident (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=59042)

glgutierrez0506 07-02-2013 05:52 PM

DACA applicant married to US Citizen or Permanent Resident

Hi, I'm a permanent resident (working on becoming a citizen), and after consulting an immigration attorney here in CA, she told us that there was a loop-hole right now where if and when my husband gets approved for DACA, he can apply for an adjustment of status within the US without having to leave. He came here without inspection in '97, so normally he'd have to leave to his home country (Mexico in this case) to apply for a waiver since he entered illegally. I've tried looking online, but everyone seems to say (online) that he HAS to leave no matter what, suggested filing I-601A waiver so he won't be gone for so long, but that he still has to go even after getting DACA approved. Has anyone else's attorney told them about this "loop-hole" as well? or even heard about this being done successfully?

chocolatedrop 07-02-2013 05:56 PM

Re: DACA applicant married to US Citizen or Permanent Resident

What is the loop -hole that your attorney is referring to?

jb89 07-02-2013 05:59 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by glgutierrez0506 (Post 494706)