DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   Other Topics (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Filing Individual Income Tax Returns FAQ. (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=36978)

msaccountant 01-12-2013 06:14 PM

Filing Individual Income Tax Returns FAQ.

The purpose of this thread is to try and educate fellow DREAMers about filing individual income tax returns. I won't go into full details again like I have said again and again I'm no tax expert but I do have basic knowledge when it comes to this and I will try my best to help anyone out. Any other members on here accounting majors, business majors, and anyone that has experience/knowledge is more than welcome to help out.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What do I do with my ITIN now that I have an SSN?

Once you're approved for DACA/EAD and have received your new SSN you must give up your ITIN.
This thread will tell you what you have to do: http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=33829

Once you do that you will not use your ITIN to file taxes ever again your new SSN will be the number you use from now on.

Do I qualify for the Earned Income Credit/Earned Income Tax Credit?

Depends. You must be at least age 25*, your filing status must not be Married Filing Seperately, have a vaild SSN, and meet the income requirements.

Once you're approved for DACA/EAD and have received your own SSN you will have a valid SSN. However, you must know that if anyone on your tax return does not have a valid SSN you will not receive the credit.

I would advise those of you that previously had an SSN to get a new card before you file because if the preparer sees that it says it's not valid for employment then they will think you don't qualify for the credit.

*If you have children the age limit does not apply to you.