DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Any college students that applied for the California Dream Act Financial aid? (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=75475)

2H2F 01-14-2017 09:39 PM

Any college students that applied for the California Dream Act Financial aid?

Any college students that applied for the California Dream Act Financial aid/ Cal- Grant and if so what was the outcome. I'm entering my first semester at CSULB and tuition is crazy expensive.. just wondering if anyone has any advice on how I may go about this.. I'm willing to use the school loan and pay it down the road also

fishcakes 01-14-2017 10:54 PM

Re: Any college students that applied for the California Dream Act Financial aid?

I've been applying to it for the past three years and I've always been approved due to my family's income. As long as you give them all the information (especially the tax information) and you fit the criteria (GPA, income, etc.) then you should be approved.

There's not really much advice to give since your financial aid is determined by your college. You should really talk to a financial aid officer about financial aid and see if CSULB has a club or organization for undocumented students on-campus. They'll be able to give you way better information such as whether the college gives grants to undocumented students and what your options are.

I think UCs are also starting to give school loans to AB540 students but unfortunately you wouldn't be eligible. You can't get school loans if I remember correctly - only private ones though you should be eligible for work study if you have EAD. All I get from my UC school are...

* Calgrant (covers tuition fully)
* AB540 grants (covers the international fee - since we're still considered international or something? Never really understood this)
* UC grant