DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   Anyone in NY tristate area looking for a software engineer? (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=72875)

Demise 12-29-2015 04:49 PM

Anyone in NY tristate area looking for a software engineer?

Long story short - I graduated in May and had 0 luck finding work in my field (Software Development, but I've been also looking at IT and Databases). Applied to probably at least 200 places by now, generally got no responses or "Sorry but we decided to go with other candidates", had a few interviews but you know how it is - bullshit screening, blatant lying (position listed as Jersey City, NJ suddenly turns into AZ and then they don't call back once you say alright to the relocation), and there's always that one guy who did just a tiny better than you and got the job.

I tried "networking", but obviously don't have anything to network upon. The two people that I know who work in the field are mid level employees and their companies simply aren't looking for anyone out of college.

So, anyone able to help? I just want to work, move out, marry my gf, get my permanent residency, and close this chapter of my life already.

amoney3 12-30-2015 12:28 AM

Re: Anyone in NY tristate area looking for a software engineer?

Sorry to hear you've been having a tough time, Demise. What's our specialty in software engineering? I do the same thing.

I would recommend attending events in the startup scene of NYC. I worked for a couple of startups while I was there, and it was a great experience. Check out generalassembly (https://generalassemb.ly/education?format=events) and https://nytm.org/.

If you're willing to relocate to the West Coast, PM me and we can chat :).

Demise 12-30-2015 02:34 AM