DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   To work with expired EAD or not (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=74133)

More_than_adream 08-09-2016 02:11 PM

To work with expired EAD or not

Hey guys so my ead expires Sept 4 (second renewal, case submitted june 1st, bio done june
30th) and I have not heard a word from my current employer which I am a DNA scientist in a lab in VA. When I worked at JCPenny they told me 2 months in advance that my ead would expire and they wanted a valid one soon. How a retail company knew and this employer doesnt is baffling lol.

My parents are telling me if they dont know it wont kill them but i also read that if you work past 180 days on an expired ead that will get you in major trouble maybe if you want to AOS when married or something. I also am apart of the development work to make new vaccines and I would hate for someone to investigate me and see that there was a period I was illegal working at this company. I really dont want to cause a huge scene and have everyone i work with know I am under DACA and treat me different either.

What are you guys doing or have as a back up plan if yours becomes expired? Should I talk to HR a week before my ead expires (if it comes to that) and beg for leave of absence? Sucks because my license expires same date as well....UGHHHH

dreamy14 08-09-2016 02:16 PM

Re: To work with expired EAD or not