DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   New Members (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Brand New!..Need some Help/Advice (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=4353)

Ed 07-05-2007 04:53 PM

Brand New!..Need some Help/Advice

First of all i would like to introduce myself. hi! my names ed. and i am originally from the Philippines. I immigrated here when i was 4. I graduated high school in California. Although since then i have moved to Las vegas, Nevada with my parents. I have yet to go to college. I plan on getting my nursing degree. But unlike Texas and California, I hear that Nevada did not pass the bill in which undocumented students could pay in-state tuition fees. I am also a bit skeptical about going to college because first of all I cannot apply for Fafsa and any federal loans. My resources as far as financial aid is limited, because of my status. Also i have heard many stories about undocumented students who graduate, get degrees and are unable to accept any jobs, because they have yet to get a SSN. I have written, a letter to both of our senators here in nevada, encouraging them to pass the dream act, in which one of them is Harry Reid, the senate majority leader. The way i look at is, if i go to school and am able to get some kind of private loan, then i graduate, and i still cant work, who will help me pay for my loan?..Ill be stuck in the middle of nowhere with my degree. Like i said i plan to get my nursing degree, i was wondering if any of you guys know, if it would be possible if a health agency would sponsor me. because they do that a lot here in nevada. Other than that, what would u guys advice me to do. Any feedback would be great .javascript:emoticon(':(')
Sad

Ed 07-05-2007 06:41 PM

can anyone help me wit my situation..?

Abaddon 07-05-2007 06:50 PM

We are all in the same boat praying for DREAM. Keep calling, writing, faxing!

Welcome to DAP.