DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   Other Topics (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=24)
-   -   Going to an employment agency (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=65604)

DamLeon123 10-19-2013 06:12 PM

Going to an employment agency

Hello to all. Next week I plan on going to an employment agency.
I am new to the workforce and only have an Associate's Degree
(In Computer Systems) I plan on going to a four year University, but
for now I need to get a job.
What should I expect when I go in?
Do I have to make an appointment first, or is it just a walk-in?
How should I dress?
I do not have any job history.
I would really appreciate someone helping me out.
Thanks.

bertdude7 10-19-2013 06:40 PM

Re: Going to an employment agency

First things first, you need to understand that if you seek employment through one of these agencies, it will most likely be temporary. They have contracts with employers, once thats expired they will let you go, unless you are very valuable and excel at the job you are doing. You can either make an appointment or just walk in, dress as if you were going to an interview. I wish you good luck!

MDxOD 10-19-2013 09:46 PM

I would call to make an appointment. Send them your resume. That way they have jobs in mind for you when you meet, instead of them getting back to you another day.

Dress professionally, suit, shirt, tie etc... Bring copies of your resume just in case. Yes, they are mostly temp positions or sometimes leading to full time but you will still have work and gain experience. They will take a portion of your paycheck though.

leo86 10-20-2013 12:32 AM

The work exp in your chosen field is the most important thing to get.

Once you put enough time in and you learned enough, get the heck out and find a stable employment elsewhere.

You gotta be mercenary with these agencies because they will ride you if you don't.

DamLeon123 10-22-2013 05:42 PM