DREAM Act Portal Forum

DREAM Act Portal Forum (http://dreamact.info/forum/index.php)
-   The Lounge (http://dreamact.info/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=26)
-   -   any of you trying to get into med-school?? (http://dreamact.info/forum/showthread.php?t=6455)

mein herz brennt 11-12-2007 05:20 AM

any of you trying to get into med-school??

hi, im new to this forum and i find it very interesting. Im a sophomore at OSU, premed, biochem major, and of course illegal. God willing trying to get into med school after i graduate. im gonna have to take an MCAT which is really difficult to get prepard for. So fas i just feel weird, kinda depressed because i study my a** off and then probably gonna take the MCAT, but i dont really know if im even gonna be able to applt to med school. you guys get my point, what is the purpose of studying so much for med school, if im prob not even gonna be able to apply, and if i do get in, i dont know how im a gonna pay it. i really like science but i have thought many times to change my major to an easier one, just because my future is uncertain.
Maybe one of you guys is already at a med school or something and can throw a word of advice. thanks

Jourbalist 11-12-2007 05:24 AM

You could go to school part-time. Don't give up on med school. Look for loans and scholarships that are available to illegals. Dream will probably pass in 09.

allihaveisdream 11-12-2007 08:34 AM

There is a problem with med-school. To do your rotations, you need authorization to work even though you are not getting paid. You could try to go and hope your status changes before your 3rd year.

Youguysareawesome 11-12-2007 09:44 AM

You can go to med school but you will have to figure out how to pay 40,000/yr unless you can become a permanent resident.

Here's the thing though, you're only a sophomore in college. Did you come here in on a visa? Are you seeing anyone?