PDA

View Full Version : Do I qualify for the potential Dream Act?

Gocchin Sama
06-03-2006, 02:01 AM
I came here when I was 14, graduated from HS at 17, and went to college at 18. In 2003, I had to cancel my F1 visa with school and to apply for gc as a dependant of my mom based on her employment-immigration under the 245(i) LIFE Act. I did that mainly because I really couldn't afford to pay double to triple the tuition as an International student and at that time, my mom's application seemed like the logical way to go. In 2004, her I-140 and our I-485s were denied due to 3 consecutive lawyer's malpractice and incompetence. On top of that, her employer's failure to show the ability to pay the future wage (that bastard made millions yet reported loss on the tax return!) also contributed to the denial of the case. So I have been out of status since then.

I got my bachelor's degree last year at 22. I am now 23, soon becoming 24. If the bill is to be passed, am I qualified for the Dream?

juang
06-03-2006, 02:11 AM
i believe you DO qualify

Nick
06-03-2006, 01:27 PM
The only reason why you could be inadmissable is section 4(a)(1)(E) (http://www.dreamact.info/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=54&Itemid=45#4a)

(E) the alien has never been under a final administrative or judicial order of exclusion, deportation, or removal, unless the alien has remained in the United States under color of law or received the order before attaining the age of 16 years.

I'm no lawyer, but from what I understand, if you have been "under a final administrative or judicial order of exclusion, deportation, or removal" (still trying to decypher what that means exactly), didnt leave, and were at the age of 16 or older when the decision was made, you are NOT admissable under the DREAM Act. Otherwise you are, unless ofcourse you have a criminal record, in which case you'll have to dig deeper.

Gocchin Sama
06-03-2006, 02:19 PM