PDA

View Full Version : Hi New Member Here

tdapf
05-30-2007, 11:55 PM
Ever since I heard about the Dream Act progress in Congress, I have been surfing the news and the internet to keep me updated on the latest news; therefore I am really glad I stumbled across this site. I have found it very informational and I am sure to find the latest information posted here. I also like the idea that everyone here is rallying for the same purpose.

Anyways. Here is a little something about myself.

I been in the US illegally for the past 17 yrs. My parents brought me over when I was 6. I graduated from college with a bachelor of science in chemical engineering.
I got lucky in the fact that the bill that allowed me to go to college paying resident tuition passed the year I graduated high school. I remember dreading my senior year and staying up nights as graduation approached wondering what I was going to do if I couldn't go to college . I wanted to be an engineer ever since I was in the sixth grade, and every day closer to my graduation I saw it as a death sentence to my dream. I didn't apply anywhere because I knew I couldn't afford it until a month before graduation (this was all thanks to my high school counselor who really bent herself backwards in trying to help me).