PDA

View Full Version : New

Subhuman in USA
10-03-2007, 02:44 PM
A little while ago I would have been too afraid to share my story, but now I think if you do not let your voice be heard, no matter how small no one will ever know. I've been here in Miami since I was 7. I went to Elementary, middle and high school here. I do not know anyone or anything back in my home country like many of you. I never realized that I was a "subhuman" living in the United States until I was a junior in high school and it was time for me to take the SATs.
I graduated top in the top ten of my class, with honors and I was even a captain on my school's soccer team. However none of my hard work or contributions to the community mean anything unless I am a "human" in the USA. The reason I say this is because from my experience in the US, I've come to realize that if you were not born here or lucky enough to have a papers, then it gives people the right to treat you like you aren't a human being made of the same genetic material as any other person. It doesn't give you a right to feelings, dreams, happiness,or a life really in America. Sometime I wish the people who don't support the DREAM ACT or the senators could be in our shoes. To have worked so hard and be told it means nothing! To want to be a lawful American and go to school and pay taxes,but not given the chance to prove yourself. I think if the roles were reversed they would want this Bill passed in a heartbeat just like us. They would want to be "human" too. We have the potential to be great leaders and doctors and lawyers, etc. We could potentially cure one of the many disease we have today,but we are not given the chance and that makes me sick every time I think about it. I know some of the Senators and people that support the Bill have hearts and compassion and can sympathize with our plight. Today I just found out that in Florida,where I live there is a motion to pass a law that would stop colleges from admitting undocumented